Ode to Dolphins

I’m a tad fond of dolphins.

That may be a bit of an understatement, given that this entire post is about my affection for them. I think they’re amazing animals, and if I could ethically (and financially and realistically) keep one as a pet in my apartment, I would jump on that opportunity.

 

dolphin-r

What’s not to like? They’re friendly, they save stupid drowning humans, and they’re incredibly intelligent. They’re also very loyal to their friends, and happen to be a bit slutty. Based on these facts, I’m pretty certain that dolphins would do really well in college. (Who wouldn’t want to be sitting next to a dolphin in their quantum physics class? It’s such a shame that universities discriminate against animals.)

dolphinclass

Anyway, this totally normal obsession of mine goes way back. When I was a kid, I had a Barbie that could kick her legs and swim in the bathtub; she was pretty awesome all on her own, but the best part was that she was accompanied by a special plastic friend – a dolphin. He had a little switch on his belly, and when you pushed it down, he emitted a high-pitched dolphiny whistle. He was fabulous, and I loved him.

dolphintoy
So handsome, so lifelike.

Interestingly, I can do a pretty good impression of a dolphin, and I’m sure I owe this talent to that toy.

In elementary school, I had Lisa Frank lunchboxes and folders depicting hot pink and purple dolphins majestically jumping into the air (ahhh, the 90s). I daydreamed about being a marine biologist or dolphin trainer and getting to play with them every day.

Sadly, I didn’t end up becoming a dolphin trainer, but it’s still one of my goals in life to swim with dolphins, even though I’m pretty certain I will cry the entire time. With joy, that is.

Shortly after graduating from high school, I took a trip to Sea World in San Diego, and got to touch a dolphin’s face for the first time. It felt rubbery and wonderful. She smiled. I smiled. We had a connection.

dolphinpet
Photo from my trip – my hand is the less-fancy one.

While vacationing in Gulf Shores, Alabama last summer, I managed to (accidentally) catch a live starfish with my bare hands. It was truly one of the coolest things I’ve ever experienced, and I have to say – other people on the beach were totally jealous. When I later recounted the story to my father (and labeled it as the Coolest Thing Ever), he thoughtfully stroked his beard, and then asked, “but what if you’d caught a baby dolphin?”

We both agreed that I probably would have suffered a stroke from the sheer amazingness of it all.

 

And now, a little poem about those rubbery, slutty creatures:

Oh dolphin, my dolphin
You are so very cute
From the tip of your nose
To the ends of your fluke

You can swim really fast
You can jump pretty high
You can live to be 50,
(And that’s not a lie).

Half of your brain stays up
While the rest is asleep,
So you can get some air
And watch for threats that creep.

You’re a lot like humans:
You like to tease and play
You tend to be slutty
And some of you are gay.

Lots of you have best friends,
Some of you care for your sick,
And just like we humans,
Some of you can be di- …uh, jerks.

Dolphins, you’re amazing
I want one as a pet
The only problem is,
You would have to stay wet.

7 thoughts on “Ode to Dolphins

  1. Hahaha. There are too many things in this post that are awesome. 1. Lisa Frank was the shit. 2. Your poem is amazing. 3. I love those rubbery, slutty creatures, too. I got to swim with the dolphins in the Caribbean a few years back. It was one of my main goals on vacation. It was ah-mazing. They are ridiculously smart.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you!! I’ll be honest, I’m feeling irrationally jealous of you for getting the chance to swim with dolphins when I haven’t yet. BUT I’m so glad someone else out there understands their amazingness!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: This Probably Isn’t Normal: A Poem – Just in Queso

  3. Pingback: Liebster Award – Just in Queso

  4. Pingback: One Word Inspiration: Secret – Just in Queso

  5. Pingback: When a Grump Talks about Happiness – Just in Queso

  6. Pingback: Happy Birthday, Just in Queso! – Just in Queso

Leave a Reply

