Liebster Award

I was nominated for a Liebster Award by Erin at Bubbles and Beebots.  You should definitely go take a look at her blog, because she writes super funny stuff about her adorable children and her patronizing cats.

When Erin was writing about her Liebster Award, she said that her computer kept wanting to auto correct her to “Lobster Award” and this amused me, because my phone wanted it changed to “Lie Steer.”

Why is my phone trying to call me a lying steer? I happen to be a very honest steer. Gee thanks, phone. Way to have my back.

Anyway, the Liebster Award is an online award for bloggers to gain more support and recognition, and just to get to know the person behind the blogger. It also helps others to discover new blogs and to build a sense of community in the blogging world. Here are the rules:

  • Thank the blogger(s) who nominated you
  • Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you
  • Nominate 11 bloggers that you think are deserving of the award but more importantly help to promote newer bloggers with fewer followers.
  • Let the bloggers know you nominated them
  • Give them 11 questions of your own

My answers to Erin’s questions:

  1. How long have you been blogging?

I’ve had this blog for about 6 months now – wow! In human development terms, my blog is now sitting up and rolling over on its own, and is probably getting close to crawling.

 2. What’s the most important thing you’ve learned from blogging so far?

The MOST important thing I’ve learned is that I can’t allow blogging to become one more way for me to compare myself to others. That’s already something I experience when it comes to my education, job, personal life, appearance, and a zillion other areas. Blogging started out as a fun hobby and a way for me to connect with other bloggers, and I need to keep it that way.

3. Why do you think the idea of a zombie apocalypse is so popular right now?

This question cracked me up because I have absolutely no idea how or why this stuff got so popular! Maybe it’s just a fun way for adults to use their imaginations.

Or maybe the popularity speaks to a broader statement about society’s fear of death, and our crazy attempts to prevent and prolong it. I really have no clue. Y’all have any other ideas?

4. If you could spend five years in any time period in history, what would it be and why?

I’m going to go with the late 1800s, for two reasons. One – because I loved The Little House on the Prairie as a kid and would like to experience childhood and life as Laura did. Two – because I’d like to meet and be mentored by the amazingly brave, determined, and open-minded women of that time.

Secret reason #3: the fabulous hats.

liebster2.jpg

5. If we could resurrect any extinct animal, Jurassic Park style, which one would you pick?

I’m not going to lie (see, phone? I’m honest!), I had to do a little research on this one. I didn’t want to say dinosaur, since we already know that’d end in disaster. And suggesting the saber tooth tiger (which was the only other animal I could think of) also seemed bad for the same reason.

So I googled a list of animals that have most recently gone extinct, and learned that a species of dolphin (the Baiji) has died out due to poaching and pollution. If you didn’t know, I’m obsessed with dolphins, so this knowledge pained me.

I’m secretly hoping that if I resurrect these slithery goddesses, they’ll be forever grateful, and therefore willing to take me on rides.

6.  If we could clone any dead person and bring them back to life, which one would you pick and why? Ignore the ethical issues involved in cloning people and you aren’t allowed to pick a family member.

Let’s bring back Amelia Earhart and ask her what the hell went wrong in that last flight.

7. If you could have any superpower, which one would you pick and why?

To eat as much queso and other delicious junk foods as I wanted to, without any negative health repercussions. If you don’t think that counts as a superpower, then we can’t be friends.

 8. What do you think is the most under-appreciated film?

Where the Heart Is.  It’s got everything: love, crime, superstitions, and Natalie Portman.

9. If you had to live in any film’s universe, which one would you pick?

Any kind of musical – Grease, Across the Universe, etc. The characters’ lives aren’t perfect, but at the end of the day, they can perform synchronized choreography to lyrics about their troubles. I’ll take it.

10. How do you think the world has changed in the last 20 years?

Obviously, some ugly changes have taken place, but I’m going to choose to focus on the good ones: advances in science and medicine, improved gender equality, increased access to family planning and sexual health services, increased understanding about mental health, and increased knowledge about stuff in general.

Also, the growing popularity and variety of queso has changed many lives.

11. How do you think society will change in the next 20 years?

Amazon will have figured out a way to deliver fresh margaritas and tacos to your home within 30 minutes of ordering. Oh, and hopefully, people will be nicer to each other.

My nominees for the Liebster Award:

  1. Midnight Musings with Meg
  2. Hot Mess Memoir
  3. Badge 415
  4. The Culture of Growing Up
  5. Waltzing with Whims
  6. Behind the White Coat
  7. Momsranting
  8. Date by Number
  9. Deconstructing Doctor
  10. Cool Beans
  11. Accidental Mommy Diaries

My questions for my nominees:

  1. Why did you start blogging?
  2. What is your all-time favorite TV show?
  3. Which would you rather eat – a seeing-eye dog, or a talking gorilla? Ignore any dietary restrictions you may have.
  4. What book can you read over and over again?
  5. What is a funny or special memory from your childhood?
  6. On a scale of 1-10, how much do you like queso? (cheese melted together with spices, peppers, and sometimes meat). Explain your answer.
  7. If you had to live in any film’s universe, which one would you pick?
  8. Would you rather watch a three-hour marathon of Keeping Up with the Kardashians, or a six-hour children’s yodeling contest? Why?
  9. Describe your surroundings as you work on these questions. Where are you sitting? What are you wearing? And are you creeped out by this question?
  10. When you were 5, what did you want to be when you grew up?
  11. Do you shower at night or in the morning? Why?
18 thoughts on “Liebster Award

  1. Love Where the Heart Is. Amelia Earhart. Yes. Yes. I got my nomination for Leibster and fulfilled it, but I may answer these just because. I love fun, quirky, odd little pieces of info.

    Like

    1. I’m currently trying to convince a friend of mine to watch Where the Heart Is and she’s not having it, so I’m glad somebody else sees the excellence of that movie 😀

      Yes, you should totally do it! I agree, they’re fun to answer.

      Like

  2. Agh! There were so many things here where I was all, “Ah, yes. She gets me.”
    I’ll try to address these briefly:

    ~My computer kept changing my award to Lobster, so I’m sorry your phone has a problem with you.

    ~I 100% understand the “comparing self to others” thing. I do that all the time and even caught myself comparing my writing to yours a while back when I found your blog! You’re an excellent blogger whose humor flows with ease and you keep our attention throughout the posts. Definitely don’t compare yourself to anyone. You are your own, queso-loving person whose light shines in this corner of the internet.

    ~1800s Hats! I haven’t read your blog enough to figure out where you live, but if you can begin wearing them in YOUR neck of the woods, and I begin wearing them in MY neck of the woods, we can probably make them trendy again!

    ~ Your queso photo at the top of the blog makes me hungry.

    I can’t sleep, so I think I’ll answer your questions NOW! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Wow, thank you for that amazing compliment! Being told I’m funny pretty much makes my day 😀 (Okay, month).

      Your blog is fantastic as well, so I’m glad we found each other! Maybe we’re blogging twins? Is that a thing? If not, it should be.

      We should TOTALLY start a hat revolution. I live in central Texas, so I think summertime might not be the best time to start a huge-hat fad. Then again, wearing one of those babies with a tank top and shorts would be pretty darn fabulous.

      I can’t wait to read your answers! When you’re finished, you shall reward yourself with queso 🙂

      Like

      1. Ooh, true with the weather thing. I’m in Iowa and some summers are awful, with a humid temps hovering at 105. Other summers are reasonable and hang out in the 80s, and I could use such a hat to keep the sun out of my eyes, sooooo… I guess I’ll just see how things go with this trend!

        And we’ll coin the term blogging twins! It’s ours and no one else can take credit! Boom. That’s how phrases are made.

        The questions have been answered, so if you could please message the queso to me asap, that’d be great!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I love it! 🙂

    Great answers. I think you may be onto something about Amazon and the taco & margarita delivery. They’re already doing the quick delivery thing now, and I would definitely take advantage of a margarita & taco service.

    Also love the hat picture

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Nominated for the Liebster Award- Yeah!!!

Leave a Reply

