Quote Challenge – Day Two

Yesterday, I was nominated by Mark over at Coloring Outside the Lines to participate in a three-day quote challenge. Woo hoo!

Here are the rules for this challenge:

  • Post one of your favorite quotes(different quote on each day) on three consecutive days. The quote can be from your favorite book, author, or your own.
  • Nominate three bloggers to challenge them.
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you

My quote for Day One was uttered by the jolly Mr. Rogers himself, so it seemed fitting to follow that one with this quote:

“You can discover more about a person in an hour of play than in a year of conversation.”

Who do you think came up with this one? Barney? Big Bird? Perhaps another member of the Rogers clan?

Actually, it was Plato.

Too bad he didn’t spell his name “Playto.” Heh heh, get it? I’ll show myself out.

I chose this quote for a couple of reasons. One – it is actually one of the driving principles behind my career. I am a child and adolescent counselor, and play is a big part of my work with kids. “What a fun job,” you might be thinking, “you just get to play with toys all day!” 

Well, yes and no.

Sure, sometimes play is fun, yes. But sometimes it’s sad, and heavy, and frequently, it’s really hard work. For both the kids and me. Play is the natural way that children make sense of the world and cope with confusing, difficult things…sitting a kid down in a chair and expecting them to rattle off their thoughts and feelings is just not developmentally appropriate.

I could easily go off on a tangent about the amazingness that is play therapy, but then you’d obviously get sucked in and be here awhile, and you’d end up missing the super-fun plans you probably already have, and then you’d be like, “damn it, cheese girl! I was supposed to sing karaoke tonight!” so I’ll stop here.

Reason #2 for choosing this quote: when I think about how adults spend time with close friends and family, I can absolutely see where play comes into the picture. Now, I’m not suggesting that you invite your friend over for the evening and whip out your Barbies.  Or maybe you do, I’m not here to judge. 

But just because adults have (probably) put down the dolls and toys, doesn’t mean we don’t play! Play can mean having a couple of drinks on the back porch with your best friend. It can mean shopping and getting your nails done with your mom. It can look like laughing with your older brother about something that happened 20 years ago.

There are lots of different ways that we play, and like “Playto” said – I think you can learn a lot about someone by the things they laugh about and enjoy doing. Probably not more than what you’d learn in a year of conversation, though. I hate to criticize Plato since he’s way fancier than I’ll ever be, but come on – an hour of play being more meaningful than a year of conversation? Slight exaggeration, buddy.

play

 

9 thoughts on “Quote Challenge – Day Two

  1. Play time is extremely important. It reminds us that life isn’t existing long enough to see the Sum tomorrow. But actually is a free form of expression. One year of observation makes the other person boring

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Quote Challenge – Day Three – Just in Queso

  3. Oooh, this would be fun to talk about for hours.

    This is so far off topic, but kind of close. Someone Important in Academia Whose Name I Forgot made a point about how adults get to this point in their lives where they no longer like to draw. Have you noticed that? You ask a child to sit down and draw, and, if they’re in the mood, they’ll draw something. Anything. But when a person hits a certain age and you ask them to draw, they’re like, “Oh, no. I can’t draw.” Unless they’re a creative person/artist. But you’re just asking for anything. Not perfection, just anything specific, and they still get shy and don’t want to draw. I found that to be true and wonder why that is.

    Totally not the point of your post, but I found that interesting when I was studying A Thing. I have a slight interest in art therapy and this post reminded me of that. I helped children with art therapy and loved seeing what they got out of it, but my heart broke, too, so brava for your work!

    Back to your post, I do see the importance of play in relationships. I wonder if it is about distraction? I’m typically a guarded person, but if moseying through stores with a friend, items that we see might remind me of things from my past and I’ll share stories while I’m distracted by the shopping trip. If I don’t know the person well and nothing serves as a conversation-starter or distraction, my walls will stay up. It will take DECADES to get to know me in a non-stimulating space. Decades! Hm.

    Done rambling. I’m tired and will forget I wrote this tomorrow.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, that’s not off-topic at all! That totally fits into the idea of play. I hadn’t read about that, but it totally makes sense. And I think it must start in adolescence, because I feel like I have to provide more reassurance that there’s no right/wrong way, that I’m not assigning this a “grade”, etc, compared to the younger kids. I think it’s wrapped up in the idea of what we see as socially acceptable as one grows up – you’re supposed to become more independent, get a job, etc, while also letting go of the more “childish” things along the way. Makes you wonder how things would be different if it was considered “normal” for adults to continue to play in the carefree way that kids do.

      You make a good point that it might be about distraction! I’ve noticed that it’s easier for me (and for a lot of people) to open up on a car trip, or perhaps while working on a project together, than it is sitting face-to-face. The lack of eye contact somehow makes it less intense, and if the conversation gets awkward, you can easily veer it in another direction. “Oh hey, look out the window – there’s a train!”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Whew, I was worried that you were going to read this and be like, “Whoa, whoa, Megs. Twins no more!”

        As I was typing that, I was considering the idea that the hesitancy begins in adolescence, but couldn’t place my finger on why that would be. I think you are right that it’s because it’s at that time of life that we’re learning what’s socially acceptable for the age group… “I’m not an artist, so I can’t draw for fun anymore.”

        I would sign up immediately if we could do a social experiment about how things would be different if society considered it normal for adults to continue to play in a carefree way! I imagine stress levels would be down…

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Of course you’re still my blog-twin! You had some great thoughts!

        An evil side of me would like to trap a couple of adults in a room full of different toys for a few hours or so. I’m sure for awhile, they’d just make small talk, but I’d like to think that once the boredom set in, they’d start to pick up toys. I’m sure that the review board that approves research studies would be totally okay with my desire to kidnap and trap human beings.

        Like

      3. You can tooootally kidnap people. It’s in the name of science!

        That reminds me of this Buzzfeed thingie. There was no kidnapping, but there is spying, soooo…

        Like

Leave a Reply

