Queso Critique – Iron Cactus

Iron Cactus – Bee Cave, Texas

As a super famous queso critic and blogger, I’ve learned that it’s important to take detailed notes while testing a new dish, so that I can refer to them later on when I’m writing the review. Unfortunately, I recently made the fatal, unforgivable mistake of accidentally deleting my notes before I’d gotten around to writing.

I didn’t realize it until days later, and by then, I’d forgotten a lot of the cheesy details. (Cheesetails?) This is one of those times when I’d like to have a talk with my brain about the way it organizes itself. I can recite a poem for you that I memorized in 4th grade, but I can’t tell you what I thought about a dish that I ate a couple of weeks ago.

Since I can’t do anything about my poorly organized brain at this time, today’s critique will be reduced to the main highlights!

  • Restaurant: Iron Cactus in Bee Cave, Texas. (To my knowledge, there’s no actual cave of bees in this town. I’m disappointed, too.)
  • Dish: Queso Compuesto. White cheese with guacamole, pico de gallo, and grilled chicken
    ironcactus
  • Flavor: Cheese was yummy, and had good spice. Chicken was inferior to El Arroyo’s.
  • Consistency: Too liquidy. Many sad.
  • Final score: 3.1. This queso was par with so many ones that we’ve had before – good, but not great.

I know, I know, this post was somewhat “meh,” but then again, so was the queso! In fact, I purposely made this critique boring, so you’d truly understand how forgettable the dish was, and NOT because I accidentally deleted the notes like a flippin cheese-rookie.

Although I’ve only had this blog since October, my cheese wife (it’s a thing) and I have been testing quesos for an entire year now. It’s our quesoversary! In order to spice up our cheese marriage, we will be trying a few different activities this summer. Here are some posts you can expect to see over the next couple of months:

  • A Just in Queso original recipe for…queso. Obviously. Why would we give you a recipe for salad? Go make your own lettuce.
  • Details of us forcing unsuspecting people to bring us cheese offerings.
  • Notes from our attendance at a queso-cooking contest in Austin. They haven’t asked us to be judges yet, but I’m sure the invite will come ANY day now.

The reason for the cheesin’

Iron Cactus website

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Queso Critique – Iron Cactus

  1. It still looks great. You know, I’m really surprised queso isn’t in California… a bunch of chips to dip in melted cheeses, blended and flavored to perfection? How do we still just run around eating nachos around here!?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m surprised by that too! You need to introduce your people (fellow Californians) to the wonders of chips and queso. They would think you’re a genius 🙂

      Admittedly though, there’s not a huge difference between queso and its classy cousin, nachos. They definitely share some of the major components!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. My cousin would join. She’s the one I had queso with for the first time and now we’re queso buddies. She was raised here too and never had it until she was in Atlanta.

        It does seem much like nachos, in theory, but then how many different Mexican creations are just a combo of a few ingredients? Just meat, beans, tortillas and cheese… Yet we get an amazing array of possibilities 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. A cheese cult wouldn’t be the worst thing in the world. There wouldn’t be a need for matching garb. Might need a chant though!

        This is true about Mexican food. Just take the staples and arrange them in as many different combinations as possible!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

