Queso Palooza

One kabillion years from now, when I look back on my career, the work accomplishment I think I’ll be most proud of will be the time that I somehow convinced multiple coworkers to bring me different types of cheese.

Let me set the scene for you. Almost every month, my agency has a potluck lunch to celebrate any employees’ birthdays that occurred during that month. Knowing how much my cheese wife and I adore queso, someone made a harmless-but-genius joke back in June that the next potluck should be queso-themed.

Amanda and I immediately latched on to this idea as though it were a life preserve and we were drowning in the ocean. Our eyes got big. We clapped our hands. We bounced up and down. The joke-maker tried to take her suggestion back, but at this point, it was too late. The toothpaste was already out of the tube.

palooza1

The Queso Palooza potluck finally rolled around last Wednesday. Five generous coworkers brought their own beloved queso creations and set up camp in the kitchen. Crockpots occupied every available electrical outlet. Bags of chips were poured into bowls. Some clever human even brought cheesecake for dessert.

It was a lot like how the Mayans used to please their gods by making animal sacrifices. Only, instead of gods, my coworkers were trying to impress two cheese-crazed humans. And instead of animal sacrifices, there were just cheese offerings.

So, to sum it up, it was nothing like the Mayans.

Amanda and I gathered samples of each cheese and sequestered ourselves in the conference room to conduct our official judging business. Regretfully, I was too hypnotized by all the quesos to remember to take pictures of them. But I did take diligent notes!

Queso #1 got us off to an excellent start with a smooth, creamy consistency that didn’t harden even as it cooled. Queso #2 contained white cheese (which we tend to prefer) and poblano peppers.

Appearance-wise, Queso #3 looked more like a chili than a queso, with its liquidy consistency and big chunks of onion and peppers. But it was very flavorful. Like the mad scientists we are, we mixed Quesos #3 and #1 together and found success.

Quesos #4 and #5 were the unique ones of the bunch, as #4 was the only one to be broiled in a skillet (and involve Gouda), and #5 was the only one to contain meat.

All of the quesos had their strengths and weaknesses, but the two we couldn’t stop snacking on were #1 and #4. We ended up awarding the grand prize trophy to Queso #4, which turned out to have been cooked by our supervisor. She triumphantly celebrated her victory.

palooza3
Awarded to “The Big Cheese”

Also, I feel like I should mention that all participants were given scratch-off tickets as a thank-you for humoring us, so at least we’re somewhat appreciative gods  cheese-crazed humans.

If you were having a potluck meal and could pick the theme, what would you go with? Breakfast foods? Desserts? Various quesos?

The Reason for the Cheesin’

 

11 thoughts on “Queso Palooza

  1. Purely genius ploy! How many times do you think you can pull this off? You know without being considered some Cheddar Muenster all Colby jacked up with an up and Edam attitude. They may start throwing Brick at you. 😉

    Like

  2. momsranting

    Am I boring if I say chocolate? Bah, too bad. Chocolate. And things to pair with it. Such as chocolate fountain and dipping items. Dark chocolate and rasberries. Milk chocolate and….anything.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Steve

    The best potluck I’ve been a part of was all Mexican dishes. I would recommend holding the pot luck after hours, as nothing pairs with Mexican food like a good margarita or my favorite, a cold beer. Now that I mention it, how just a beer pot luck?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ohhh that sounds delicious! I don’t think there’s ever a day that I would turn down a margarita and Mexican food! After stuffing myself silly at a potluck lunch, I’m usually not super productive at my job haha, so that’d be another advantage to holding the potluck after hours!

      I’m not big on beer, but I know that the true enthusiasts would definitely back you up on that idea.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

