What’s the Opposite of Decorating?

I was taking down Christmas decorations when I decided that this task should be combined with drinking, or perhaps made into a game, due to how boring and frowny it is.

And then I remembered – that I’ve already had this exact same thought before…

Just in Queso

Today, I forced myself to do something that was necessary, but completely awful. Torturous, even.

I finally put away Christmas decorations and took down my tree.

…Am I the only one who finds this task incredibly depressing?

In late November, like many others, I so look forward to dragging out the torn and tattered boxes of decorations. I listen to Christmas music and sip hot chocolate while lovingly finding homes for each little trinket. It’s a comforting ritual.

And the best part is, for over a month, I get to enjoy the sight of my lit-up tree with presents underneath, in all of their glistening and glittery glory. Nothing gets me in the holiday mood faster.

undecoratingdog

Unfortunately, while getting the ornaments out is loads of fun, putting them away comes with no fanfare. You spend all that time and effort, neatly balling up the lights, re-wrapping ornaments in tissue paper…

View original post 336 more words

2 thoughts on “What’s the Opposite of Decorating?

Leave a Reply

